Walter E. Schaller

HOME PAGE

Associate Professor

Texas Tech University

 

258 Philosophy Bldg.

742-0373 ext. 330

Walter.Schaller@ttu.edu

Office Hours: MWF 9:00-9:50; MW 12:00-1:00

 

A CONFERENCE ON TORTURE (April 9, 2011)

   JAZZ PHOTOS

   Koho

   JOHN STUART MEETS THE PROFESSORS

   BILL

  ARCHIBALD

  HAROLD IN THE LAND OF JAZZ    

  MAUDE AND GRACIE    

  HAROLD AND MAUDE ON THE CAMPAIGN TRAIL

  CLEVELAND SPORTS

  ALBERTO GONZALES COMES TO TEXAS TECH


 PHIL 2320: Introduction to Ethics

Syllabus 2320

MORALITY QUIZ

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


PUBLICATIONS:

"Is Liberal Neutrality Insufficiently Egalitarian? Neutrality of Justification vs. Strong Egalitarianism" JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY (December 2004)   Click Here

"Liberal Neutrality and Liberty of Conscience," LAW AND PHILOSOPHY (April 2005), pp. 107-138.   Click Here

"Why Preference-Satisfaction Cannot Ground an Egalitarian Theory of Justice," JOURNAL OF SOCIAL PHILOSOPHY (2000), pp. 294-306  Click Here

"Kant on Moral Right and Moral Rights," SOUTHERN JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY 38 (2000), pp. 321-342.  Click Here

"Rawls, the Difference Principle, and Economic Inequality," PACIFIC PHILOSOPHICAL QUARTERLY (1998), pp. 368-39  Click Here

"Expensive Preferences and the Priority of Right: A Critique of Welfare-Egalitarianism," JOURNAL OF POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY (1998), pp. 254-273.

"From the GROUNDWORK to the METAPHYSICS OF MORALS: What Happened to Morality in Kant's Theory of Justice?" HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY QUARTERLY 12 (1995), pp. 333-345.

"Should Kantians Care About Moral Worth?" DIALOGUE 32 (June 1993), pp. 25-40.  Click here

"On The Relation of Moral Worth to the Good Will in Kant's Ethics," JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHICAL RESEARCH 17 (1992), pp. 351-382.  Click Here

"A Problem About Sanctions in Brandt's Utilitarianism," RATIO 5 (June 1992), pp. 74-90. Click Here

"Punishment and the Utilitarian Criterion of Right and Wrong," SOUTHERN JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY 29 (Spring 1991), pp. 109-125   Click Here

"Are Virtues No More than Duties to Obey Moral Rules?" PHILOSOPHIA 20 (July 1990), pp. 195-207. Reprinted in ETHICAL THEORY, Second Edition, ed. Louis P. Pojman (Wadsworth Publishing Co., 1995) and in ETHICS: THE BIG QUESTIONS, ed. James Sterba (1999).

"Kant on Virtue and Moral Worth," SOUTHERN JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY 25 (Winter 1987), pp. 559-573.  

"Kant's Architectonic of Duty," PHILOSOPHY AND PHENOMENOLOGICAL RESEARCH (December 1987), pp. 299-31  Click here


PRESENTATIONS:

"The Pond, The Envelope, and the Vintage Sedan: Taking Global Poverty Seriously," APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 2008   Click Here

"Rawls Versus the Anarchist: Justice and Legitimacy" APA Central Division Meetings, April 2005  Click Here

"Is Political Liberalism the Death of Human Rights? Rawls, Relativism, and Reasonableness," APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 2005  Click Here

"Neutrality of Justification vs. Strong Egalitarianism: Wall's Criticisms of Rawlsian Liberal Neutrality," APA Central Division Meetings, April 2003 

"Three Objections to Neutrality of Justification," APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 2003.  Click Here

"Liberal Neutrality and Liberty of Conscience," APA Eastern Division Meetings, December 2002 

"In Defense of Rawlsian Equality of Opportunity," APA Central Division Meetings, April 2000 Click Here

"Rawls, the Difference Principle, and Economic Inequality," APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 1998

"Kant on Moral Right and Moral Rights," APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 1997 

"Rawls and Responsibility for Ends: The Problem of Expensive Tastes," APA Pacific Division Meetings, April 1996  Click Here

"Why Preference-Satisfaction Cannot Ground an Egalitarian Moral or Political Theory," APA Central Division Meetings, April 1996  Click Here

"From the Groundwork to the Metaphysics of Morals: What Happened to Morality in Kant's Theory of Justice?" APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 1995

Commentator, Eighth International Kant Congress, Memphis, March 1995

"Consent, Rights, and Kant's Principle of Humanity," APA Pacific Division Meetings, March 1994

"On the Relation of Moral Worth to the Kantian Good Will," APA Central Division Meetings, April 1991  Click Here

"Mill on Guilt and Duty," APA Central Division Meetings, April 1990 

"Should Kantians Care About Moral Worth?" APA Central Division Meetings, April 1989   Click Here

"Are Virtues No More than Duties to Obey Moral Rules?" APA Central Division meetings, April 1987 


EDUCATION:

University of Wisconsin (1978-84) M.A., Ph.D., Philosophy 

University of California, Berkeley (1974-76) M.A., Political Science 

Albion (Mich.) College (1967-71) B.A., Philosophy


TEACHING EXPERIENCE:

Texas Tech University, Associate Professor, 1992-

Texas Tech University, Assistant Professor, 1986-1992

University of Kentucky, Visiting Assistant Professor, 1985-86

Wheaton (Mass.) College, Visiting Assistant Professor, 1984-85


Links:

Talking Points Memo: http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com

Kevin Drum ("Political Animal"): http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/

Juan Cole: http://www.juancole.com/

dailyKos: http://www.dailykos.com/

Crooked Timber: http://www.crookedtimber.org/

Public Reason Blog: http://publicreason.net/

Project Syndicate: http://www.project-syndicate.org/

American Prospect: http://www.prospect.org/web/index.ww

BOSTON REVIEW: http://bostonreview.net/

Legal Theory Blog (Lawrence Solum): http://lsolum.typepad.com/legaltheory/

In Socrates' Wake: http://insocrateswake.blogspot.com/2007/09/over-on-ethics-etc-there-is-ongoing.html

Human Rights Watch: http://www.hrw.org/

Liberals Against Terrorism: http://www.liberalsagainstterrorism.com/drupal/

War and Peace: http://www.warandpiece.com/

Crimes of War: http://crimesofwar.org/ 

Left 2 Right: http://left2right.typepad.com/main/

Darfur Genocide: http://www.darfurgenocide.org/

Save Darfur: http://www.savedarfur.org/

International Crisis Group: http://www.icg.org/home/index.cfm?id=2765&l=1

Cleveland Indians: http://www.clevelandindians.com/

Cleveland Cavaliers: http://www.nba.com/cavs/

Texas Tech Philosophy Dept.: http://www.philosophy.ttu.edu/

Natural History and Humanities: http://www.honr.ttu.edu/nhh/

Texas Tech Honors College: http://www.honr.ttu.edu/

North American Kant Society: http://naks.ucsd.edu/

DOWNBEAT Magazine: http://www.downbeat.com/

JAZZTIMES Magazine: http://www.jazztimes.com/

Audiophile Audition: http://www.audaud.com/audaud/

The Garden of Forking Paths: A Free Will/Moral Responsibility Blog: www.gfp.typepad.com

Brad Mehldau: http://www.bradmehldau.com/mehldau/   

Bill Evans: http://www.selu.edu/34skid/

Kenny Werner: http://www.kennywerner.com/

Fred Hersch: http://www.fredhersch.com/

Jessica Williams: http://www.jessicawilliams.com/index.html/

Jean-Michel Pilc: http://www.jmpilc.com/

John Coltrane: http://www.johncoltrane.com/

Family Web Sites (you have to try them to see who they are):

    http://www.sashaalyson.com/

    Big Brother Mouse.

    http://www.eduweb.com

    http://www.eliawoods.com/

    http://www.schallerconsult.com/

    http://www.honr.ttu.edu/nhh/